Can't edit shared design
If a design is shared with you and you can’t edit it, this is usually due to your access level, a team or admin restriction, or the design reaching its editor limit. Here’s how to identify the cause and fix it.
What can cause this
You only have view or comment-only access to the shared design.
What to do
Ask the owner of the design to re-share the design with you and make sure to give you edit access.
The design already has the maximum number of editors
What can cause this
Up to 200 people can edit a design at the same time. Once a design reaches that limit, new people can only view it until an editor spot frees up.
Up to 300 people can view a design live at once, including editors.
What to do
Ask the owner to share a copy with you, or try again later.
If a design is shared with a team, you can’t access it if you’re not part of the team or if you’re trying to open it from your personal account.
To check if you’re on the right team:
- Select your profile icon from the homepage or from the (More) tab.
- A check appears next to the team you’re currently on.
- If you’re not on the right team, select the team name to switch. You’ll be redirected to the team homepage.
Your admin has restricted designs from outside your team
Ask the person who shared the design to share it directly with you in your team. You can also ask your admin to allow your role or group to access designs from outside your team.
The design has custom fonts that people outside the team can’t view
Ask the owner to do one of the following:
- Share a copy where the custom font is replaced with a standard Canva font.
- Add you to the team where the design was created.
- Temporarily change the custom font to a standard Canva font on the original design.
Additional resources
Was this helpful?
Helpful
Unhelpful